DIY: Muscle tee

DSC01443

Muscle tees are the most comfortable thing to wear in summer: they have a loose fit and they don’t make you feel like you’re about to suffocate.
They’re not hard to find either: Brandy Melville, H&M, Forever21, … They all sell heaps of muscle tees.

… But why should you buy them if you can make them yourself for way cheaper?

 

DSC01434

What do you need?

– Shirts (I recommend men’s shirts because they have the perfect fit for muscle tees, I got   mine at the thrift store for €2,50 each)
– Scissors

BAM, that’s it ;)
DSC01435

Step 1:

 

A muscle tee has those signature big armholes, so let’s just start with that:
first I cut of the sleeve of the shirt, but I made the armhole bigger afterwards.
You can cut them as big or small as you want, but I made them not too big.

(Don’t cut off too much at once, it’s easier to cut off more if needed than to add fabric back on if you’ve chopped off too much!)

DSC01436

Step 2:

Once you’ve tried on your shirt to make sure the armhole is the right size, fold your shirt in half and cut the other sleeve off. By using one side as a pattern for the other you can be sure that your muscle tee will be symmetrical.

DSC01437 

 

Step 3:

My shirt was way too long, so I cut off about 10 cm on the bottom. Doing this will also make it look more worn out.
To make it even more worn out, stretch out the cut sides until the edges start to curl up. This will also help to hide your edges if they’re not perfectly cut.

DSC01438

Step 4:

This step is optional too, but I like to make the neckline of my shirt bigger and looser. Just cut around the sewn line to do so (or make it even bigger if you’d like).

  DSC01444

I like to pair my muscle tees with a bandeau top and some bright shorts or trousers. They are also great as a bikini cover-up for when you’re at the beach.

There you have your own muscle tee! I really like how this one turned out with the hilarious design on it ;)

Here are some more (crazy) pictures…

DSC01445 DSC01447

 

I hope you’ll have as much fun as I had while making this ^^

~ Hannelore

4 thoughts on “DIY: Muscle tee

Comment

