Book review: The Fault in Our Stars

Nog nooit heb ik een boek van redelijk formaat op vier dagen uitgelezen totdat ik The Fault in Our Stars van John Green tegenkwam. Eens ik begon te lezen, kon ik haast niet meer stoppen. Het is zo prachtig geschreven dat ik het dan ook aan iedereen aanraad.

Never have I finished a reasonably sized book in four days until I discovered The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Once I started reading I couldn’t put it down. It’s written so beautifuly that I recommend it to everyone.

Eerst en vooral ga ik jullie kort vertellen waar het boek over gaat.
Hazel Grace Lancaster lijdt aan terminale kanker en haar moeder dwingt haar om naar bijeenkomsten te gaan. Daar leert ze Augustus (Gus) Waters kennen. Hij is een overlever van kanker en raakt al snel bevriend met Hazel. Deze laatste raadt Gus aan An Imperial Imperfection te lezen en dit boek ontketent veel dingen.
Nadien gebeuren er nog veel emotionele en ook grappige dingen, maar hier ga ik nog niet te veel over zeggen ;)

First I’m going to shortly explain to you what the book is about.
Hazel Grace Lancaster suffers from terminal cancer and her mother forces her to go to a Support Group. This is where she meets Augustus (Gus) Waters. He’s a cancer survivor and they soon become friends. Hazel gives An Imperial Imperfection to Gus to read and this book launches many things.
After this there are a lot of emotional and also funny things, but I won’t be telling you too much about this yet ;)


John Green

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” – The Fault in Our Stars

Deze quote vat het gevoel dat ik krijg bij dit boek perfect samen. Het zit vol eerlijke en oprechte wijsheden over onze samenleving. Ze worden niet verheerlijkt of iets dergelijks: ze worden geschreven zoals ze zijn.

This quote perfectly summarizes the feeling I get with this book. It’s full of honest and real truths about our society. They’re not glorified or anything: they’re written as they are.

Soms vind ik de woorden die worden gebruikt wel wat moeilijk (aangezien Engels niet mijn moedertaal is), maar dit vind ik persoonlijk wel leuk omdat je zo veel nieuwe mooie woorden leert kennen. Dit boek doet mij ook meer denken aan een lang, goed geschreven gedicht dan aan een gewoon verhaal.

Sometimes the words are a bit hard to understand (especially because I’m not a native English speaker), but this also makes it fun because you get to know a lot more interesting words. This book reminds me more of a long, nicely written poem than of a regular story.

Op verschillende sites staat dat ze The Fault in Our Stars gaan verfilmen, maar eerlijk gezegd vind ik dit niet zo’n goed idee. Zo gaat iedereen namelijk alleen de (waarschijnlijk heel emotionele) film kijken waardoor de boekversie verloren gaat. Daarom raad ik aan iedereen aan om het boek nu alvast te lezen en als je het dan leuk vond kan je de film vol spanning afwachten :D

On several sites it says that they’re making a film of the book, but to be honest I don’t think this is such a good idea. This way everyone will just watch the (probably really emotional) movie which will make people forget about the book version. That’s why I recommend everyone to read the book right now so you can wait eagerly for the movie to come :D

 

 

Heb jij The Fault in Our Stars al gelezen?
Have you read The Fault in Our Stars yet?

 

~ Hannelore

2 thoughts on “Book review: The Fault in Our Stars

Comment

