An upcoming star: Lorde

Royals, de nieuwe hit van zangeres Lorde (alias Ella Yelich-O’Connor) kwam ik vorige week tegen via een cover van Pentatonix. Ik was meteen verzot op de muziek en tekst.
Hierdoor ben ik wat gaan opzoeken over Lorde zelf, en ze is echt de moeite waard! Wil je ook wat meer weten over deze opkomende ster? Lees dan zeker verder…

Royals is the new hit from singer Lorde (aka Ella Yelich-O’Connor) I came past last week because of a Pentatonix cover. I fell in love with the music and lyrics instantly. It caused me to look up some things about Lorde herself, and she’s totally worth it! Do you want to know a bit more about this rising star as well? Be sure to keep on reading…

Dit is het liedje waardoor ik Lorde leerde kennen. Royals is een rustiger liedje, maar toch vind ik het niet saai. Het liedje gaat eigenlijk over niet veel geld hebben en niet zijn zoals de ‘royals’, maar Lorde zingt dat ze dit niet erg vindt. Ze zegt letterlijk in het liedje ‘That kinda luxe just ain’t for us’.

This is the song that introduced me to Lorde. Royals is a somewhat slower song, but I still don’t think it’s boring at all. The lyrics are actually about not having a lot of money and not being like the royals, but Lorde sings she doesn’t mind this at all. She literally says in the song ‘That kinda luxe just ain’t for us’.

Lorde is geboren en getogen in Nieuw-Zeeland en is bijna 17 jaar oud. Ondanks haar jonge leeftijd is ze toch al zeer succesvol: op haar dertiende had ze al een contract bij Universal en ze is de eerste artiest sinds jaren die nog maar 16 is en al op nummer één staat in de Amerikaanse Billboard.

Lorde is born and raised in New-Zealand and she’s almost 17 years old. She’s still very young, but she’s already very successful: when she was just thirteen years old she had a contract at Universal and she is the first artist in years who is only 16 and is on number 1 in the American Billboard.

Waarover veel gemengde gevoelens bestaan zijn haar tweets: veel mensen vinden ze gewaagd of gedurfd, maar ik vind het gewoon knap dat ze dingen durft zeggen als: “Taylor Swift is so flawless, and so unattainable, and I don’t think it’s breeding anything good in young girls. ‘I’m never going to be like Taylor Swift, why can’t I be as pretty as Lorde?’ That’s f*cking bullshit.”

Het laatste dat ik nog over haar wil zeggen is dat ik haar haar prachtig vindt! Ik wil ook wel zulke grote krullen ;)

There are a lot of mixed comments on her tweets: many people say they’re dared, but I just admire her for daring to say things as: “Taylor Swift is so flawless, and so unattainable, and I don’t think it’s breeding anything good in young girls. ‘I’m never going to be like Taylor Swift, why can’t I be as pretty as Lorde?’ That’s f*cking bullshit.”

The last thing I want to talk about is her hair. I just love it! I wish I had those kind of big curls ;)

Begin je al helemaal fan te worden van Lorde? Haar album Pure Heroine kan je alvast gaan dowloaden op iTunes!

Are you becoming a real Lorde fan already? You can find her album Pure Heroine on iTunes!

~ Hannelore

2 thoughts on “An upcoming star: Lorde

Comment

