Photo Diary Vienna #1

De eerste week van februari had ik een lesvrije week – yes! – en in die week had ik een kleine reis gepland naar Wenen. Omdat ik Duits studeer kon ik met de universiteit voordeliger naar Oostenrijk, en die kans liet ik niet liggen!

In the beginning of February I had a week off – yes! – so I had planned a little holiday to Vienna. Because I study German I could book a holiday to Austria that was a lot cheaper, so I grabbed my chance!

In Wenen heb ik ontzettend veel foto’s genomen, en daarom ga ik deze Photo Diary opdelen in twee delen. Zo blijft het overzicht hopelijk een beetje bewaard :)

I took a huge amount of pictures in Vienna, so I’m dividing this ‘Photo Diary’ into two parts. That way there will hopefully be a clear overview of the pictures :)

Deze reis was meteen ook mijn eerste keer op een vliegtuig. Ik was eerlijk gezegd wel wat zenuwachtig omdat ik nog nooit gevlogen had, maar achteraf gezien viel het allemaal nog goed mee.

This holiday was also the first time I would be going on a plane. I was quite nervous beforehand because I had never flewn before, but looking back at it now it wasn’t too bad after all.

Iets wat je overal – maar dan ook echt overal! – tegenkomt in de binnenstad van Wenen zijn kerken. Wij bezochten dan ook een hoop kerken & kathedralen. Sommige waren niet zo speciaal, maar er zaten ook heel indrukwekkende gebouwen bij. Zo bezochten we de prachtige Stephansdom en de Karlskirche, maar ook andere (kleinere) kerken verspreid door Wenen.

Het rare voorwerp dat je kan zien op de laatste foto is een modern kunstwerk in een heel oude kerk. Ik weet niet wie het maakte of waarom het daar hangt, maar ik vond het er wel leuk uitzien!

Something that you can see everywhere in Vienna – and then I really mean everywhere! – are churches. We visited quite a few churches and cathedrals. Some weren’t that special, but others were very impressive. One example of such a beautiful church was the Stephansdom and the Karlskirche, but other (smaller) churches in Vienna are definitely also worth visiting.

The strange thing you can see on the last picture is a piece of modern art that hung from the ceiling in an old church. I don’t know who made it or why it’s hanging there, but I though it looked quite cool!

We bezochten ook het Kunsthistorisch Museum van Wenen. Het was een heel indrukwekkend gebouw – zowel vanbinnen als vanbuiten – en er hingen veel meer ‘bekende’ werken dan ik had verwacht. Rubens, van Dyck, van Eyck, Brueghel, het hangt er allemaal!

We also visited the Art History Museum of Vienna. It was a very impressive building – both on the outside and on the inside – and it contained a lot more ‘famous’ works than I had expected. Rubens, van Dyck, van Eyck, Brueghel, you can find it all there!

Geloof het of niet, dit gigantische gebouw is de universiteit van Wenen.

Believe it or not, this huge building is the university of Vienna.

Schloss Schönbrunn is één van de bekendste bezienswaardigheden van Wenen, en zeker ook één van de mooiste! Hier woonden heel veel Oostenrijkse keizers en veel van de kamers zijn prachtig ingericht.

Schloss Schönbrunn is one of the most famous places in Vienna, and also one of the most beautiful ones! A lot of Austrian emperors have lived here and a lot of the rooms are entirely decorated.

Dit was deel 1 van mijn fotoverslag. Stay tuned voor deel 2 volgende week!

This was part 1 of my photo diary. Stay tuned for part 2 next week!

~ Hannelore

2 thoughts on “Photo Diary Vienna #1

Comment

